FilledTag Get a hunt plan

How do I get hunter education in Maryland?

In Maryland, first-time license buyers need a Certificate of Competency: take the free multi-day in-person class (required under age 13) or, from age 13, the agency's approved online course plus a free one-day Field Day Workshop, or hunt with a mentor on a $15 resident Apprentice Hunting License.

Data updated October 27, 2026. Every answer below is from the Maryland Department of Natural Resources's own pages, with the date each was checked.

Maryland hunter education at a glance

QuestionWhat the agency saysSource
Who has to take hunter education in Maryland?Since 1977, anyone buying a Maryland hunting license for the first time must show a Certificate of Competency in Firearms and Hunter Safety, unless they held a hunting license before July 1, 1977, legally hunted private land license-exempt before that date, or buy a nonresident license to hunt only waterfowl. People exempt from buying a license must still meet the hunter safety requirement and get a free DNR ID. The certification is one-time.Maryland DNR, checked October 27, 2026
How old do you have to be to take hunter education in Maryland?There is no minimum age to hunt or to take the traditional in-person class, which is taught at about a 5th grade level. The hybrid online option is for ages 13 and older. Students under 13 must have an adult 18 or older with them during every session.Maryland DNR, checked October 27, 2026
Can you take Maryland hunter education online?Students choose a multi-day, fully in-person class (required for anyone under 13) or, from age 13, a hybrid: the agency's single approved online course followed by a one-day in-person Field Day Workshop. The online course issues a voucher for the workshop that is good for one year.Maryland DNR, checked October 27, 2026
Is there a field day in Maryland?Both formats require passing a 50-question test at 80 percent, safe firearm handling in front of an instructor, and a live-fire range event, though some classes waive live fire because of facility limits. Hybrid students take a test online and another at the Field Day Workshop. Certain Maryland-based military members, Maryland law enforcement officers, and Maryland carry permit holders may get the workshop waived but must still finish the online portion.Maryland DNR, checked October 27, 2026
How much does Maryland hunter education cost?The traditional in-person class and the Field Day Workshop are free. The online provider charges a fee, which the agency's page does not state.Maryland DNR, checked October 27, 2026
Can you hunt in Maryland before taking the course?The Apprentice Hunting License costs $15 for residents and $40 for nonresidents and requires a short online Apprentice Hunter Safety course first. Junior hunters may buy it every year through age 16 (retaking the online course each year); people 17 and older may buy it only once and only if they never held a Maryland hunting license. The apprentice must be directly supervised, close enough for immediate control of the firearm or bow, by a Maryland resident 18 or older with a regular Maryland hunting license.Maryland DNR, checked October 27, 2026
Does Maryland offer a hunter education deferral?Maryland does not describe a deferral; the agency's pages offer the Apprentice Hunting License as the way to hunt before completing the full course, and suggest it for young hunters until they are ready for the class.Maryland DNR, checked October 27, 2026
How do you replace a lost Maryland hunter education card?Graduates of a Maryland course can request a free replacement card through an online form; the card is emailed and may take up to 4 weeks. Records before 1990 are incomplete, and if no record is found the course must be retaken. Requests are not taken by phone.Maryland DNR, checked October 27, 2026
Does Maryland accept hunter education cards from other states?Maryland accepts hunter education certificates from all other U.S. states as meeting the competency requirement, so no Maryland class is needed. Duplicates of out-of-state cards must come from the issuing state.Maryland DNR, checked October 27, 2026

Who has to take hunter education in Maryland?

Since 1977, anyone buying a Maryland hunting license for the first time must show a Certificate of Competency in Firearms and Hunter Safety, unless they held a hunting license before July 1, 1977, legally hunted private land license-exempt before that date, or buy a nonresident license to hunt only waterfowl. People exempt from buying a license must still meet the hunter safety requirement and get a free DNR ID. The certification is one-time.

Source: Maryland DNR, checked October 27, 2026.

How old do you have to be to take hunter education in Maryland?

There is no minimum age to hunt or to take the traditional in-person class, which is taught at about a 5th grade level. The hybrid online option is for ages 13 and older. Students under 13 must have an adult 18 or older with them during every session.

Source: Maryland DNR, checked October 27, 2026.

Can you take Maryland hunter education online?

Students choose a multi-day, fully in-person class (required for anyone under 13) or, from age 13, a hybrid: the agency's single approved online course followed by a one-day in-person Field Day Workshop. The online course issues a voucher for the workshop that is good for one year.

Source: Maryland DNR, checked October 27, 2026.

Is there a field day in Maryland?

Both formats require passing a 50-question test at 80 percent, safe firearm handling in front of an instructor, and a live-fire range event, though some classes waive live fire because of facility limits. Hybrid students take a test online and another at the Field Day Workshop. Certain Maryland-based military members, Maryland law enforcement officers, and Maryland carry permit holders may get the workshop waived but must still finish the online portion.

Source: Maryland DNR, checked October 27, 2026.

How much does Maryland hunter education cost?

The traditional in-person class and the Field Day Workshop are free. The online provider charges a fee, which the agency's page does not state.

Source: Maryland DNR, checked October 27, 2026.

Can you hunt in Maryland before taking the course?

The Apprentice Hunting License costs $15 for residents and $40 for nonresidents and requires a short online Apprentice Hunter Safety course first. Junior hunters may buy it every year through age 16 (retaking the online course each year); people 17 and older may buy it only once and only if they never held a Maryland hunting license. The apprentice must be directly supervised, close enough for immediate control of the firearm or bow, by a Maryland resident 18 or older with a regular Maryland hunting license.

Source: Maryland DNR, checked October 27, 2026.

Does Maryland offer a hunter education deferral?

Maryland does not describe a deferral; the agency's pages offer the Apprentice Hunting License as the way to hunt before completing the full course, and suggest it for young hunters until they are ready for the class.

Source: Maryland DNR, checked October 27, 2026.

How do you replace a lost Maryland hunter education card?

Graduates of a Maryland course can request a free replacement card through an online form; the card is emailed and may take up to 4 weeks. Records before 1990 are incomplete, and if no record is found the course must be retaken. Requests are not taken by phone.

Source: Maryland DNR, checked October 27, 2026.

Does Maryland accept hunter education cards from other states?

Maryland accepts hunter education certificates from all other U.S. states as meeting the competency requirement, so no Maryland class is needed. Duplicates of out-of-state cards must come from the issuing state.

Source: Maryland DNR, checked October 27, 2026.

What this page leaves out

These could not be confirmed on the Maryland Department of Natural Resources's pages when this page was checked, so they are left out rather than guessed:

Hunting in Maryland by the numbers

In 2024, 111,027 people held a paid Maryland hunting license, down 2.1% from 113,460 in 2022, the 41st most of the 50 states. They bought 322,197 licenses, tags, permits and stamps (251,573 resident, 70,624 nonresident) for a gross cost of $7,914,193, 53.9% of it paid by nonresidents. Against Maryland's 6,263,220 residents in 2024 that is 1.8 license holders per 100 people, though license holders include nonresidents.

Licenses sold in202220232024
Paid hunting license holders113,460113,137111,027
Resident licenses, tags, permits and stamps261,040257,337251,573
Nonresident licenses, tags, permits and stamps69,34769,73070,624
All licenses, tags, permits and stamps330,387327,067322,197
Gross cost paid by residents$2,977,952$2,850,220$3,650,311
Gross cost paid by nonresidents$3,401,869$3,451,511$4,263,882
Gross cost, all buyers$6,379,821$6,301,731$7,914,193
Rank among the 50 states by license holders40th40th41st

Source: USFWS license data, checked October 27, 2026. USFWS counts each license year in the apportionment year two years later (licenses sold in 2024 are apportionment year 2026). License holders are not a count of hunters: hunters exempt from buying a license are left out, and some hunters buy licenses in more than one state. Population: Census Bureau 2024 estimate.

How much Maryland land has public access?

PAD-US 4.0 lists 249,631 acres of Maryland with public access, 3.1% of the state's 7,939,760 acres: 133,537 acres open access and 116,094 acres restricted access (a permit, draw, season or other limit).

Public access land, PAD-US 4.0AcresShare of the state
Open access133,537 acres1.7%
Restricted access116,094 acres1.5%
Managed by federal agencies124,990 acres1.6%
Managed by state agencies68,258 acres0.9%
Managed by local, private, tribal and other managers56,382 acres0.7%
All public access land249,631 acres3.1%

Source: PAD-US 4.0 (USGS), 2024 release, checked October 27, 2026. PAD-US does not record whether hunting is allowed: some of this land is closed to hunting, so check each property's rules with its manager.

What to do next