FilledTag Get a hunt plan

How do I get hunter education in Michigan?

In Michigan, anyone born on or after January 1, 1960 needs hunter education, taken as a classroom course of at least 10 hours or as online or home study plus a 4-hour field day, and the class and field day are each capped at $10.

Data updated October 27, 2026. Every answer below is from the Michigan Department of Natural Resources's own pages, with the date each was checked.

Michigan hunter education at a glance

QuestionWhat the agency saysSource
Who has to take hunter education in Michigan?Anyone born on or after January 1, 1960 must pass an approved hunter education course to buy a Michigan hunting license, or show a previous hunting license other than a base apprentice license. People hunting under the Mentored Hunting Program are exempt.Michigan DNR, checked October 27, 2026
How old do you have to be to take hunter education in Michigan?The agency does not state a minimum age to take the course; students under 10 must be accompanied by a parent, guardian or an adult the parent approves. Hunters 9 and younger must be licensed through the Mentored Hunting Program and hunt with a qualified mentor.Michigan DNR, checked October 27, 2026
Can you take Michigan hunter education online?There are four ways to complete the course: a traditional classroom course, an online course plus field day, an interactive online course plus field day, or a take-home study course plus field day. The traditional class is at least 10 hours over at least two days.Michigan DNR, checked October 27, 2026
Is there a field day in Michigan?Online, interactive online and take-home students must attend an in-person field day of four hours with a written test (80 percent to pass) and a practical assessment. The online completion voucher is good for 12 months.Michigan DNR, checked October 27, 2026
How much does Michigan hunter education cost?The traditional class and the field day each have a maximum fee of 10 dollars.Michigan DNR, checked October 27, 2026
Can you hunt in Michigan before taking the course?A person 10 or older with no hunter education certificate, resident or nonresident, can buy a base apprentice license for up to two license years. The apprentice must hunt with someone 21 or older holding a regular base license and a license for the same game, within uninterrupted sight and hearing; for apprentices 10 to 16 the mentor must be a parent, guardian or someone they designate, and a mentor may take no more than two apprentices.Michigan DNR, checked October 27, 2026
Does Michigan offer a hunter education deferral?The agency's pages name the Apprentice Hunting Program (base apprentice license, two license years) and the Mentored Hunting Program as the ways to hunt without a hunter education certificate; no separate deferral is described.Michigan DNR, checked October 27, 2026
How do you replace a lost Michigan hunter education card?Replacement certificates are handled only online through the DNR eLicense system: sign in, find your certificates and choose Reprint, and a copy is emailed to you. If the certificate is missing more than seven days after the course, use Certificate Help, or call 517-582-3384 if there is no reply in 7 to 10 business days.Michigan DNR, checked October 27, 2026
Does Michigan accept hunter education cards from other states?A valid hunter education certificate from another state meets Michigan's requirement, and nonresidents can buy a Michigan license with another state's certificate.Michigan DNR, checked October 27, 2026

Who has to take hunter education in Michigan?

Anyone born on or after January 1, 1960 must pass an approved hunter education course to buy a Michigan hunting license, or show a previous hunting license other than a base apprentice license. People hunting under the Mentored Hunting Program are exempt.

Source: Michigan DNR, checked October 27, 2026; page dated 2026-07-13 (page metadata, 2026 Deer Hunting Regulations Summary).

How old do you have to be to take hunter education in Michigan?

The agency does not state a minimum age to take the course; students under 10 must be accompanied by a parent, guardian or an adult the parent approves. Hunters 9 and younger must be licensed through the Mentored Hunting Program and hunt with a qualified mentor.

Source: Michigan DNR, checked October 27, 2026.

Can you take Michigan hunter education online?

There are four ways to complete the course: a traditional classroom course, an online course plus field day, an interactive online course plus field day, or a take-home study course plus field day. The traditional class is at least 10 hours over at least two days.

Source: Michigan DNR, checked October 27, 2026.

Is there a field day in Michigan?

Online, interactive online and take-home students must attend an in-person field day of four hours with a written test (80 percent to pass) and a practical assessment. The online completion voucher is good for 12 months.

Source: Michigan DNR, checked October 27, 2026.

How much does Michigan hunter education cost?

The traditional class and the field day each have a maximum fee of 10 dollars.

Source: Michigan DNR, checked October 27, 2026.

Can you hunt in Michigan before taking the course?

A person 10 or older with no hunter education certificate, resident or nonresident, can buy a base apprentice license for up to two license years. The apprentice must hunt with someone 21 or older holding a regular base license and a license for the same game, within uninterrupted sight and hearing; for apprentices 10 to 16 the mentor must be a parent, guardian or someone they designate, and a mentor may take no more than two apprentices.

Source: Michigan DNR, checked October 27, 2026; page dated 2026-07-13 (page metadata, 2026 Deer Hunting Regulations Summary).

Does Michigan offer a hunter education deferral?

The agency's pages name the Apprentice Hunting Program (base apprentice license, two license years) and the Mentored Hunting Program as the ways to hunt without a hunter education certificate; no separate deferral is described.

Source: Michigan DNR, checked October 27, 2026; page dated 2026-07-13 (page metadata, 2026 Deer Hunting Regulations Summary).

How do you replace a lost Michigan hunter education card?

Replacement certificates are handled only online through the DNR eLicense system: sign in, find your certificates and choose Reprint, and a copy is emailed to you. If the certificate is missing more than seven days after the course, use Certificate Help, or call 517-582-3384 if there is no reply in 7 to 10 business days.

Source: Michigan DNR, checked October 27, 2026.

Does Michigan accept hunter education cards from other states?

A valid hunter education certificate from another state meets Michigan's requirement, and nonresidents can buy a Michigan license with another state's certificate.

Source: Michigan DNR, checked October 27, 2026; page dated 2026-07-13 (page metadata, 2026 Deer Hunting Regulations Summary).

What this page leaves out

These could not be confirmed on the Michigan Department of Natural Resources's pages when this page was checked, so they are left out rather than guessed:

Hunting in Michigan by the numbers

In 2024, 632,144 people held a paid Michigan hunting license, down 0.4% from 634,627 in 2022, the 6th most of the 50 states. They bought 2,131,281 licenses, tags, permits and stamps (2,039,143 resident, 92,138 nonresident) for a gross cost of $36,508,303, 16.2% of it paid by nonresidents. Against Michigan's 10,140,459 residents in 2024 that is 6.2 license holders per 100 people, though license holders include nonresidents.

Licenses sold in202220232024
Paid hunting license holders634,627625,517632,144
Resident licenses, tags, permits and stamps2,044,4642,010,1562,039,143
Nonresident licenses, tags, permits and stamps83,50986,79692,138
All licenses, tags, permits and stamps2,127,9732,096,9522,131,281
Gross cost paid by residents$30,835,009$30,237,503$30,599,608
Gross cost paid by nonresidents$5,431,852$5,596,798$5,908,695
Gross cost, all buyers$36,266,861$35,834,301$36,508,303
Rank among the 50 states by license holders7th6th6th

Source: USFWS license data, checked October 27, 2026. USFWS counts each license year in the apportionment year two years later (licenses sold in 2024 are apportionment year 2026). License holders are not a count of hunters: hunters exempt from buying a license are left out, and some hunters buy licenses in more than one state. Population: Census Bureau 2024 estimate.

How much Michigan land has public access?

PAD-US 4.0 lists 7,234,871 acres of Michigan with public access, 11.7% of the state's 61,896,655 acres: 6,644,654 acres open access and 590,217 acres restricted access (a permit, draw, season or other limit).

Public access land, PAD-US 4.0AcresShare of the state
Open access6,644,654 acres10.7%
Restricted access590,217 acres1.0%
Managed by federal agencies3,776,796 acres6.1%
Managed by state agencies2,801,269 acres4.5%
Managed by local, private, tribal and other managers656,806 acres1.1%
All public access land7,234,871 acres11.7%

Source: PAD-US 4.0 (USGS), 2024 release, checked October 27, 2026. PAD-US does not record whether hunting is allowed: some of this land is closed to hunting, so check each property's rules with its manager.

What to do next